Now accepting care packages/I have great friends

The Premier of the territory, Eva Aariak, picks up her own mail from Iqaluit’s one and only post office.  I think that officially qualifies her as the most accessible premier ever.  And coolest.  It also means people like her enough to send her mail.  Go figure.  I’m sure Ontario hasn’t had a premier like that since… um… Mike Harris? Oh wait, that was hate mail.

Now, I just want to make it known that the post office here (there’s only one) is directly on my way to work. Which means if anyone was to be bored and looking for something to do and wanted to, say, send me mail, I’d be able to pick it up really conveniently.  You would also be helping me fully experience the joy of a General Delivery address:

Sarah Chown
General Delivery
Iqaluit, Nunavut
X0A 0H0
I have sent my fair share of mail over the years, so I don’t really feel that bad with this shameless plea for snail mail.  In all seriousness though, a lot of inquiring minds wanted to know, and who am I to stop people from sending mail?  Its not like I can do anything about it. Even though I am in Iqaluit, I promise that my stationary habit is alive and well: I stocked up on overpriced cards and letter paper before leaving.  I’ll return the favour, I promise.

Its also only fair if I invite you to leave me your address and I’ll start the snail-mail flying.  You can either post it as a comment or email/facebook it to me.  I’m all about the follow through.  It will get to you, but mail from here I figure takes 5 or so business days to Ottawa, so it might take awhile.

That said, I am really feeling the love from everyone ‘back home’, whether that’s Ottawa or St. Catharines or camp, or any of the other places I’ve been.  I’ve reconnected with a lot of friends over the course of this move and lots of people have made a huge effort to keep in touch and help me not feel like I living 2,000 km away and isolated from the rest of the world.  I appreciate it a lot.  I really do have great friends and family.  Thanks y’all!

4 thoughts on “Now accepting care packages/I have great friends

  1. There is a pix of Eva Aariak in the new Maclens at A Taste of the Arctic, which kicked off 2010 ass the Year of the Inuit. Now am I tuned in or what!!??? She looks quite young – 40 ish? Young to me…

  2. Hi Sarah,
    I’m not sure what is appropriate to send you. I’m sure you could do with fresh fruit and vegetables, I’m sure they wouldn’t be very fresh by the time you got them…Any suggestions???? Did you enjoy those dried cranberries? When we lived in Newfie the first time, I remember having just ONE box of strawberries for the whole summer.
    Mom said you might be staying longer than August; are you?
    I see the sun is supposed to shine in Iqaluit the next 2 days. Hope that’s right…
    I’m going to see Adam tomorrow. Knowing Adam, I expect he is up to date on your blog.
    Looking forward to your next posting. Love, Nana

    • I love cranberries! Thanks Nana. I was mostly joking with care packages, I just know peopel ahve been looking for my mailing address. There is a decent amount of fresh produce here, but you have to be willing to pay for it- and able to eat it quickly. Since it takes longer to get here, it spoils more quickly then back home.

      The sun does shine- just not for very long. Sunrise is around 9am and it sets around 3pm, meaning we have almost perpetually sunrise and sunset-hued snow and landscape.

Comments are closed.