All we need to make us happy…

I think Saturdays are going to be ‘quote day’ on my blog.  Its no secret that I love quotes for reasons that I wrote about earlier so I figure I might as well go for it.  Its not an original idea – it was definitely inspired by Gretchen Rubin over at The Happiness Project blog – well worth the read.  She spent a year test-driving different theories about happiness, and has documented what theories work and what ones aren’t worth your time.

“We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about.” –Einstein

I was flipping through a journal I keep of quotes and this was the first one I came across.

The down-to-my-toes happiness I’ve been feeling since being here (in spite of the not-very-many-hours of sunshine) definitely comes from the fact that I have many somethings to be enthusiastic about: the projects I am doing at work, the people I am working with, other people that I have met, the beautiful view from my window, the daily walk to and from work, ‘coaching’ learn to skate for 4-5 year olds.

This is similar to what I wrote about before arriving, in my post on attitude: “Dear future self…find something to do that you feel positive about doing, and do it”.  Its not quite as eloquent as Einstein, but it holds the same amount of truth.  I am grateful that I haven’t had to search far and wide to find things I’m enthusiastic about and for being at a place in my life that I am able to be here and enjoy it so immensely.

Happiness isn’t always the easiest thing to find.  I am so glad that I have found it so quickly in Iqaluit.

4 thoughts on “All we need to make us happy…

  1. Pingback: I know that we’ll have a ball… « Everything I Learned

  2. Pingback: A country that is all the ways you choose to live « Everything I Learned

  3. Pingback: All the things there are to find out about… « Everything I Learned

  4. Hey Sarah

    It sounds like you are having a great time and we enjoy reading about your activities. We have just returned from your stomping ground – Ottawa for Emma’s annual hockey tournament. We missed seeing you there! Mac is in Victoria at a rugby camp, working towards his dream of making the Under 17 Canadian Men’s rugby team! He will be back Feb 7.

    Changing topics now – I know that you are thinking about doing your Masters. I have a friend who works at the Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI) in Ottawa who you might like to talk to. She worked in public health for years and now is working for CIHI. I did my Masters of Health Science with her, she met you when you were 1 month old at our wedding! Her name is Jean Harvey and she will have lots of ideas of interesting opportunities for you in the health field. She is very well connected having been in the Ottawa area for over 20 years. She is originally from New Brunswick and is a great person. I saw her on the weekend and told her about your adventures, she would be happy to talk to you sometime. Let me know if you are interested and I will give you her contact information.

    Take Care,

    Martha

Comments are closed.