All the things there are to find out about…

Saturday is quote day!  Last week, I blogged about great books, and challenged you to make time to read.  This week’s quote comes from my favourite childhood book and heroine of the same name, Anne of Green Gables.

“Isn’t it splendid to think of all the things there are to find out about?  It just makes me feel glad to be alive- it’s such an interesting world.” -Anne of Green Gables

It is so true.  I’ve (almost) been here for four weeks and have found out about so many things and experienced lots that I never could anywhere else and know that I’m only just at the very, very tip of the iceberg.

Tonight, I went to a fundraiser for Iqaluit’s art festival, Alianait that included drum dancing, throat singing, the local high school’s choir/drum dancers, a performance team from Greenland (also home to Inuit people), various singers from across the territory and Nunavut’s very own Cirque de Soleil-esque performance group called Artcirq (seriously worth checking out if they come to your area) based in Igoolik.  It was an incredible show that served as my brief introduction to Nunavut’s art scene and some traditional Inuit song and dance.  The Greenland performance piece was high on the shock value and sexual theme, again pushing my curiousity as to the traditional beliefs and teachings about sexuality among Inuit people.  I was again amazed by the powerful and unique sound that is throat singing, fascinated by how exactly that sound is produced.  I was interested in the stories of the songs sung in Inuktitut and mesmerized by the drum-dancing that accompanied some of the songs.  The show reminded me of all the things there are to find out about here, as well as in the world in general.

To follow up on my complete happiness here, part of it comes from all the things there are to find out about.  I am starting to settle into some sort of routine – Wednesday wing nights, Friday happy hour – but each day still brings new sights, new people and new things that happen only in Iqaluit.  Like the fact that my cab driver called into the dispatcher and told him not to call him again until 11pm because he was going to see Avatar.  Or the fact that everyone knows approximately when planes land and whether or not they have been delayed or cancelled because of weather.

The last half of Anne’s quote (perhaps the most Anne-like of the whole thing) is just as true. “It wouldn’t be half so interesting if we knew all about everything, would it?  There’d be no scope for imagination then, would there?”

This week, learn about something you don’t know about – or use your imagination to come up with the answer.

Whatever you do, I hope you feel just as glad to be alive as Anne.

2 thoughts on “All the things there are to find out about…

  1. Pingback: Iqaluit is alive with the sound of music… « Everything I Learned

  2. Pingback: A country that is all the ways you choose to live « Everything I Learned

Comments are closed.