I know that we’ll have a ball…

Saturday is quote day!  Last week, I blogged about Canada being all the way you choose to live and exposed you all to a severe case of Olympic fever.  This week is more of a song day, but its my blog and I say lyrics are just as good of a quote as any.

I’m going to jump on the bandwagon of all those near and far who have sung the praises of the Black Eyed Pea’s ‘I Gotta Feeling’.  Even though Taylor Swift’s Love Story was the official camp song of the summer, ‘I Gotta Feeling’ was a close contender.  If it hadn’t been for the genius of a few staff who turned Love Story into talent show act after talent show act, ‘I Gotta Feeling’ probably would have won out.  It topped the countdowns outside of camp (yes, there is a world outside of Trillium) all summer long and the countdowns of 2009 in many places.

This morning, at the local figure skating club, I choreographed one of the group’s festival piece, to none other than ‘I Gotta Feeling’.  It wasn’t even my choice, as hard as I know you’ll find that to believe.  We had mini-dance party at the centre of Iqaluit’s arena and came up with what we think will be just over 2 minutes of choreography, including a pinwheel, a kick line, some basketweave, waltz jumps and bunny hops.  Maybe even a toe-loop or two, but we’re waiting to see.  All I can say, is that I for one will be very sad if the kids don’t love it as much as I do – something I recognize to be a distinct possibility.

In any case – I’ve gotta feeling that tonight’s going to be a good night.  I hope you do too.

