Pumpkin and what?!

If peanut butter and chocolate are soulmates, pumpkin and chocolate are the people no one knew would be friends and then got along famously and became inseparable.  This recipe for pumpkin muffins as the extra added bonus of chocolate chips.  As my roommate and I said, more sugar never hurt anyone.  We then revised it to no one ever complains about more sugar.

Pumpkin Muffins

Ingredients
1/2 cup melted butter
1 cup whole wheat flour (if you want, otherwise white I’m sure would work just fine)
1 1/2 cups white flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup pumpkin
1 beaten egg
1/2 cup buttermilk (milk is fine too)
1/2 cup chocolate chips
Directions
In a big bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
Whisk together the egg, butter, pumpkin and buttermilk.
Fold wet into dry, and stir until just combined.
Add chocolate chips – be careful not to overmix.
Pour batter into greased muffin tins. (It makes about twelve)
Bake in a 375 oven for 25-30 minutes.
Enjoy!
4 thoughts on “Pumpkin and what?!

  1. I had a classmate in high school who introduced me to chocolate chip pumpkin loaf. It sounded gross to me as I had never heard of baking with pumpkin. (My mum is from England and she tells me that she never had pumpkin until she came to Canada and couldn’t stand it so it wasn’t a staple in my home).

    I tried this pumpkin loaf and it was pretty good. Since then I bake chocolate chip pumpkin muffins every year and my children will learn to love them too.

    I might try your recipe some time. As a note, you can use plain yogurt instead of buttermilk and sour cream.

    • Its pretty dense, but delicious as a decadent breakfast. Or coffee break snack..not that I drink coffee or that you have coffee breaks Julia 😦

  2. Maybe you could learn a living as a food columnist. Not sure that my life will be complete unless I enter into the relationship of pumpkin and choclate chips! Might have to check it out!

    Love,

    MOM

    • Haha, that’s why you sent me through four years of public affairs and policy management, right?

Comments are closed.