We have a responsbility to think, not complain.

Saturday is quote day!  Last week, I wrote about the first rule of being an Iqaluit socialite: your friends are my friends.  Sharing isn’t just for the playground.

We have a responsibility to think, not complain.

This week’s gem of advice comes from one of the very impressive individuals I met with for a work project this week.  He has spent a lot of time in Nunavut and is a walking encyclopedia of the historical development of the territory’s health care governance models.  We got talking about a million things, one of them being how easy it is to become a complainer.  Like many workplaces, the status quo often prevails for no other reason than that’s the way its been done, and it works. Kind of. 

Its really easy for me to point out things that aren’t being done well.  I think a lot of people share that trait.  The challenge though is what to do with your observations.  Many people choose to complain…but the reality is it is much more productive, useful and constructive when you choose to think.  Think about what the real issues are, what realistic deliverable tangible options for improvement are and what you are going to do to make them happen. 

The next time you’re tempted to complain, take a second and think about your responsibilty- what are you responsible for?

I like to think that we’re all a little bit responsible for the world we live in, the places we work, the programs we run, the choices we make.  Call me an idealist, but that hasn’t stopped me yet.

Take responsibility. Think, don’t complain.

Happy Saturday!

One thought on “We have a responsbility to think, not complain.

  1. Pingback: An optimist is the human personification of spring. « Everything I Learned

Comments are closed.