Some excuses…and a promise

I’m not proud to admit it, but the first step in any solution is admitting there’s a problem. So, here it goes: I’m not blogging as much as I want to be.

Don’t get me wrong: I am completely in love with writing blog posts.  I think about writing them a lot.  I have notes in my email, in my notebook, on the backs of receipts, on pages at work about things that I want to blog about.  But… somehow, time slips away and I end up not ever blogging.

As always, I have good excuses. (No, the dog did not eat my blog post… but that’s only because I don’t have a dog).  The Internet here isn’t the fastest ever (or even close to the fastest ever… I’m pretty sure the dial-up I used when I was in grade school is faster.)  Since I like to do a lot of things at once, slow Internet is a huge disincentive for me to write.

Then there’s the fact that I lead a very full (and busy) social life.  And the amount of books I keep finding to read (I have a lot of friends with good taste in books). And all the things to discover in Iqaluit.  And my new snowshoes that are just begging to be used.  And the letters I like to write. And the fact that I generally have a lot to say so I can’t exactly sit down and whip out a blog.  There’s the choosing of the topic (there are so many things to write about!), figuring out what exactly to say about the topic…maybe finding the links to the article, website or blog that inspired my thought process.  As you can see, its all very difficult.  The kind of difficult that is generally worth it, but difficult nonetheless.

I came across this gem of a website last night called Thxthxthx (found thanks to The Happiness Project, of course). The concept is pretty simple: the author’s mother told her to write thank you notes.  So she does: every day.

I figure I can adapt this concept and make it work for my blog.  So the promise is this: every Thursday from this day forth will be Thankful Thursday: The plan is to try and choose something that is at least a little bit unique to Iqaluit for which I am thankful. Once I find the something for which I am thankful, I’ll post about it in thank you note form. (Its about time that I broke into the alliteration: Baking Mondays and Quote Saturdays don’t have quite the same ring).

Its a pretty selfish decision, really: Being grateful makes me happy.  Gretchen Rubin at The Happiness Project says so, and she’s the authority on these things.  I also know this from personal experience too…reflecting on what you have is much better for the soul than reflecting on what you don’t have or what is yet to come…see ‘The Station‘ (scroll all the way down) for more on this.  Having a focus to my blog posts makes me more apt to write (the only Baking Monday I missed was the one after the Olympic-gold-medal-hockey-game and closing-ceremony double header, and I’ve yet to miss a quote Saturday) – and writing makes me happy.

Hopefully though, you, the dedicated, kind reader who puts up with my little-bit-of-this, little-bit-of-that blog, will hopefully be happier too… or at least more thankful.

Happy Thankful Thursday…what are you thankful for?

2 thoughts on “Some excuses…and a promise

Comments are closed.