Chewy Chocolate Chip Squares

Brown sugar. Vanilla.  Chocolate chips.  What could be better?

If you mixed it together, spread it into a 9 x 13 and baked for 20 or so minutes at 350?

You guessed it.

This is one of the very first recipes I learned to bake all by myself, courtesy of my lovely Nana.  She puts walnuts on hers.  I like to too, but between some of my family’s aversion to nuts and the fact that I didn’t have any in my cupboard at the time, I decided to skip them this time around.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Squares

Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 cups brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs
2 teaspoons baking powder
1.5 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt (not needed if you are going to eat them quickly)
Chocolate chips and/or wlanuts to taste
Directions:
Add the brown sugar to the melted butter and combine.
With the exception of the chocolate chips, mix in the remaining ingredients.
Spread into a greased 9 by 13 pan.
Sprinkle with chocolate chips, walnuts or other toppings as desired.
Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.
