On being old, jaded and hopeful enough to outweigh them both

Dear blog-following friends,

Last Friday when I wrote, I was really, really frustrated and angry.  I just wanted to let you all know that it was only a moment- not my daily reality.  I wouldn’t be so happy here if I was that frustrated.  I do feel like I am part of a team here that is really working hard to be effective in what we do.  Its easy to lose the perspective that change doesn’t happen overnight in all the wishing and hoping that it will.

So, on that note, I will leave you with the much more inspiring lyrics of one India Arie, the song There’s Hope.  Because even though we needed the vaccine yesterday, there is hope we will have it tomorrow.  And while its not okay in so many ways, it’s the reality.  Wishing it was there yesterday isn’t going to get it to anyone any faster.

To a happier Tuesday….

There’s hope
There’s hope
India arie
Back when I had a little
I thought that I needed a lot
A little was overrated but a lot was a little to complicated
See zero didn’t satisfy me
A million didn’t make me happy
That’s when I learned the lesson
That’s its all in your perception
 
Hey are you a pauper or a superstar
So you act so you feel so you are
It ain’t about the size of your car
Its about the size of the faith in your heart
 
There’s hope
It doesn’t cost a thing to smile
You don’t have to pay to laugh
You better thank God for that
 
There’s hope
It doesn’t cost a thing to smile
You don’t have to pay to laugh
You better thank God for that
 
There’s hope
 
In the back country of Brazil
I met a young brother that made me feel
I could accomplish anything
You see just like me he wanted to sing
No windows and no doors
He lived a simple life and was extremely poor
On top of all of that he had no eyesight
But that didn’t keep him from seeing the light
He said  what’s its like in the USA
And all I did was complain
He said livin here is paradise
He taught me paradise is in your mind
 
You know that there’s hope
It doesn’t cost a thing to smile
You don’t have to pay to laugh
You better thank God for that
 
There’s hope
It doesn’t cost a thing to smile
You don’t have to pay to laugh
You better thank God for that
 
There’s hope
Every time I turn on the TV
There’s hope
Somebody’s acting crazy
There’s hope
If you let it’ll drive you crazy
There’s hope
But I’m taking back my power today
There’s hope
 
Gas prices they just keep on risin’
There’s hope
The government they just keep on lyin’
We gotta keep on survivin’
Keep living our truth and do the best we can do
 
There’s hope
It doesn’t cost a thing to smile
You don’t have to pay to laugh
You better thank God for that
 
There’s hope
It doesn’t cost a thing to smile
You don’t have to pay to laugh
You better thank God for that
 
There’s hope
Stand up for your rights
Keep shining your light
Show the world your smile
 
Stand up for your rights
Keep shining your light
Show the world your smile
 
There’s hope
It doesn’t cost a thing to smile
You don’t have to pay to laugh
You better thank God for that
 
There’s hope
It doesn’t cost a thing to smile
You don’t have to pay to laugh
You better thank God for that
 
There’s hope
 
