Looking forward to things is half the pleasure of them…

I credit this quote to my favourite red-head heroine, Anne Shirley, but others in the wide world of the internet attributed it to Phil Collins, although he allegedly said, ‘Anticipation is half the fun’.  Anne definitely says it best:

“Oh, Marilla, looking forward to things is half the pleasure of them,” exclaimed Anne. “You mayn’t get the things themselves; but nothing can prevent you from having the fun of looking forward to them.” -Lucy Maud Montgomery

She is lovely.  Its not the first time I’ve used one of Anne’s quotes, and I hope it won’t be the last.

In the midst of all the too-hot weather down south, I am really enjoying my few moments of capris and skirts and not wearing a jacket when I walk to work.  While our temperature here is lower than summer down south, its really the windchill that keeps it cold enough for pants and long sleeves.  The bugs also encourage more rather than less clothing (they are huge).

I am truly looking forward to all the summer things that will come when I am home in August.  Like ice cream, having some colour on my face so I’m not as white as a polar bear, heading back to camp, wearing sandals or being barefoot all the time, fresh produce, sitting on a patio, swimming outside, and other cottage moments, like sailing.  

I’m rejoicing for Iqaluit summer, spending more time outside – generally on the beach beside the ocean with a book  and working ice cream into as many situations as possible – but shorts and tshirts and barefeeet aren’t quite going to happen for me anyways – there are a ton of children who have been wearing summer wardrobes for awhile.

I am also eagerly looking forward to being a student again in the fall, and may or may not be colour coding class schedules and planning my move out west already.  With so much to look forward to, the challenge is living in the sunny Iqaluit moments from the two minute walk to the beach with my book to the never-setting sun to crazy moments with my very fun friends. 

I think that looking forward to the next few months is just adding to my enjoyment of Iqaluit and the nostalgia that happens before you’ve even left a place but makes you love it all the more.  Expect some sepia-toned photos to be posted soon.

Enjoy your hot weather!

