Less is more!

Less is more…its kind of like a quality over quantity argument in my mind.  Maybe it could be a way to do the bare minimum, but not in my world.  For the next three months, I’m adopting a less is more approach to clothing.

Starting today, I am participating in Project 333, the brainchild of minimalist Courtney Craver, in which  people are pledging to wear only 33 items of clothing, including tops, bottoms, shoes, coats, hats, gloves, sunglasses, scarves and jewelry.  Underwear, pyjamas and workout gear (if worn while working out) doesn’t count….but that’s about it.  Purchases aren’t allowed either.

I’m adopting a flexible approach to this project for a few reasons: 1) I don’t have a ton of clothes to being with, 2) I’m indecisive when it comes to these things, and 3) I’m indecisive so my list isn’t finalized yet.  I am however, keeping track of what I am wearing and making sure its included on the list.  I’m also planning on being slightly short of the 33 item limit so I can be flexible about things I’ve forgotten I need, which given my inability to plan, seems like it has a pretty high potential.  I will keep this space updated about my exact list of items.  So far, I have a pair of jeans, a yellow sweater and a brown jacket on the list.  The idea comes from Courtney’s minimalist approach to life, and extends the minimalist perspective to the realm of fashion.  It also challenges consumerism and materialism – both things that I could do a bit more of in my life.

If you are interested its not too late to start and its easy to adopt a flexible approach rather than being rigid about the rules.  Try it for a month or see how few articles of clothing you can wear in one week.  If this isn’t your things,  a similar idea is The Uniform Project in which a plain little black dress becomes an all-purpose outfit, plus or minus  shoes, jewelry, scarves and other accessories.  This project also acts as a fundraiser for the Akanksha Foundation which helps ensure children in India can attend school.  It started as a year long challenge in creativity one woman set up for herself in 2009, and has grown into a much bigger project with more participants and lots of media attention.

Whatever you choose to do, hopefully you won’t mind seeing my yellow sweater, because I’m going to be wearing a lot of it in the next three months!

