I have no words: rape.

Sometimes, I have no words to describe my sense of injustice that arises when reading certain news stories.  Usually when that happens, I don’t post.  Until now.

Rape is always wrong.  In Beaumont, Texas, a female cheerleader was raped by a male basketball player.  They were both in high school.  He pled guilty and was sentenced to a year in jail, which was reduced to two years of probation, a fine, community service and an anger management course.

Now, the cheerleader he raped has been kicked off her cheerleading team for refusing to scream the name of her rapist, a decision on her part that I believe to be perfectly rational.  Even worse, the court has upheld this decision.

I can’t even begin to explain all the reasons every aspect of this situation is repulsive.  Luckily, the great people over at the blog from the book Yes Means Yes: Visions of Female Sexual Power and a World Without Rape have it figured out. For their explanation of the situation, take a look at their post (written by a man, I might add) ‘Richard Bain, this is what you did‘. To sign the petition calling for an apology to the woman in question, head over to Change.org’s Women’s Rights section.

