“…to have some little joy or happy thought that would never have existed if I hadn’t been born.”

I spent some of my holiday time absorbed in my childhood favourite Anne of Green Gables and the Avonlea of a certain imaginative redhead spelled A-n-n-wtih-an-e.  In the spirit of the season of resolutions and improvements, I offer this passage of Anne’s as thought-provoking inspiration.

“I’d like to add some beauty to life.  I don’t exactly want to make people know more..thought I know that is the noblest ambition…but I’d love to make them have a pleasanter time because of me…to have some little joy or happy thought that would never have existed if I hadn’t been born.” -Anne of Green Gables

Perhaps rather than improve ourselves, we should be trying to improve the world for others. Perhaps the two go hand in hand.  Whatever your resolutions may be, I hope the pursuit of them brings you happiness.

In any case, happy new year to you and yours. May 2011 bring you many great things.

3 thoughts on ““…to have some little joy or happy thought that would never have existed if I hadn’t been born.”

  1. This book is so rich in its wisdom and its words. Be sure to bring more of Lucy Maud Montgomery into your blogs …. you share a real kinship with one another!

  2. I loved the quote when you threw it down in June [https://everythingilearned.wordpress.com/2010/06/03/id-like-to-add-some-beauty-to-life/], and still love it today!
    Happy new year!

    • Its just that good! And… I highlighted a different piece to change it up a bit. Happy New Year to you and yours Andrew!

Comments are closed.