Use your words.

“We are not sure that words can always save lives, but we know that silence can certainly kill.” -Dr. James Orbinski, in An Imperfect Offering

Some days when I think about the world around me, I am so entirely appalled at the amount of injustice that continues in my backyard, in the lives of my friends, in the country and global community I am a part of.  On my desk sits a card that reads, “This is your world. Shape it, or someone else will.”  Of late, there are too many ‘someone else’s’ shaping a world that I don’t like: a Canada that continues to colonize, exploit and discriminate against people near and far, that does not speak out vocally and adamantly about issues of global justice and that perpetuates hate, injustice and illness at home and abroad.  Lately, I have been more determined than ever to raise these points to the people we have given power to make decisions and to call out decisions that do not reflect the world I want to live in.  As such, I will be back to posting about these issues in the space..hopefully interspersed with some uplifting quotes now and again. 

Today, I responded to the call from allout.org to support the fight for LGBT equality in St. Petersburg by posting affirmative comments on the video posted on YouTube to raise awareness of the attempt to silence LGBT people there.  When it was first posted, the video was overwhelmed by negative comments and so it was taken down.  Not so today: it was reposted and there are nearly double the number of ‘likes’ to ‘dislikes’ at the time of writing.  Check it out, and leave your own comment of support: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hmucr0l1wUA&feature=youtu.be

It is appalling that the government thinks this law will be accepted by its citizens and the international community. Many have highlighted the absolute necessity of using one’s voice to draw attention to injustice and inequity, and while St. Petersburg considers this law, we should all be using our voices to affirm the rights of our fellow human beings to speak, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity, or any other demographic or characteristic. I look forward to seeing this changed!

