“…the way to help strengthen my community as a whole is to improve the quality of my relationships…”

“It’s clear to me that I spent too much time in the past believing it was necessary to mobilize entire armies against the devastating effects of racism, and not enough time considering how one person can help another person to health from those effects. A chain, after all, is only as strong as its individual links, and it seems to me now that the way to help strengthen my community as a whole is to improve the quality of my relationships – romantic and otherwise – with individual Black folks I meet every day. To do this requires tearing down all the walls I’ve built around myself and taking a long, hard look inside; what I’ve already discovered, much to my surprise, is that the view isn’t really all that bad.” -Quinn Eli, in Patricia Hill Collins’ book, Black Sexual Politics: African Americans, Gender and the New Racism

I’ve immersed myself in a bubble of amazing writing by smart women lately, including Patricia Hill Collins. I thought I would try to share a few tidbits of all the things they have to say here, but highly recommend you don’t take my word for it, and get your hands on this book (Black Sexual Politics: African Americans, Gender and the New Racism) quick (from a local bookstore or a library, if possible)!

