“…if you say it a lot, it won’t make it common and so unheard, but known and absorbed.”

Today’s quote is comes from A Design So Vast – a beautiful blog about one woman’s quest to live in the moment – who quoted it from Peggy Noonan’s editorial following 9/11.  The post, entitled ‘What matters is how well we have loved’ is the author’s response to Obama’s speech at the Tucson memorial service.

“We’re all lucky to be here today and able to say what deserves saying, and if you say it a lot, it won’t make it common and so unheard, but known and absorbed.”

So often when we face a loss – personally or societally – it comes back to telling the people we love that we love them, the people we appreciate that we appreciate them, and thank the people who do great things for us.

Sometimes, in the world of efficiency and busyness, its easy not to say the things that matter most. I send ‘thank you’ text messages and emails even though it makes the efficiency gurus in the world (and in my life) cringe just a bit.  I insist on writing snail mail telling people in my life how great they are. I say ‘love you’ before hanging up the phone when I’m talking to my parents.  It can be easy for them to become rote or part of the daily routine, “common and so unheard”. I want them to be known and absorbed…so I will continue to do them, and out of genuine feeling – not rote memory.

Thank you – for coming here, for reading, for commenting.

3 thoughts on ““…if you say it a lot, it won’t make it common and so unheard, but known and absorbed.”

  1. Pingback: “…the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places…”.” « Everything I Learned

Comments are closed.